Nobel Peace Prize Goes to Dr. Denis Mukwege And Nadia Murad

By Emily Sullivan

The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Dr. Denis Mukwege, a Congolese gynecologist, and Nadia Murad, a Yazidi survivor of rape and captivity by ISIS, for their contributions toward combating wartime sexual assault.

The prize was announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo, Norway, on Friday morning. The committee praised the winners for being symbols in the fight to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.

Mukwege has treated victims of sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of the Congo for most of his adult life. He founded theĀ Panzi Hospital, which supports survivors of sexual assault.

Source: National Public Radio

Read More Here

Leave a Reply